Level Chinese Language and Reading Standards

Based on years of Chinese teaching experience, combined with Common Core ELA Anchor Standards, ACTFL performance descriptors and IB, the Level Chinese Content R&D team has developed a set of scientific and concrete Chinese reading and writing levels and standard.

  • 20 levels of  Reading Foundation Standards and 16 levels of Non-Fiction Reading Standards
  • 8 levels of Writing Standards

The following tables and diagrams explain relationship between Common Core core standards, ACTFL performance descriptors and Level Chinese standards.

ACTFL Proficiency Levels for Reading

Mapping between Level Chinese levels to ACTFL Proficiency Levels for Interpretive Reading (PDF)

ACTFL Level Chinese
Novice Low A
Novice Mid B
Novice Mid C
Novice High D
Novice High E
Intermediate Low F
Intermediate Low G
Intermediate Low H
Intermediate Mid I
Intermediate Mid J
ACTFL Level Chinese
Intermediate Mid K
Intermediate High L
Intermediate High M
Intermediate High N
Intermediate High O
Advanced Low P
Advanced Low Q
Advanced Low R
Advanced Low S
Advanced Low T

ACTFL Proficiency Levels for Writing

Mapping between Level Chinese levels to ACTFL Proficiency Levels for Writing

ACTFL Level Chinese
Intermediate Low E
Intermediate Mid G
Intermediate Mid I
Intermediate High K
ACTFL Level Chinese
Intermediate High M
Advanced Low O
Advanced Low Q
Advanced Mid S

Common Core for ELA Reading Anchor Standards

Relationship between Level Chinese Reading standards to Common Core Anchor Reading Standards, using Level J as an example

Common Core for ELA Writing Anchor Standards

Relationship between Level Chinese Writing standards to Common Core Anchor Writing Standards, using Level K as an example